Every state in one table
One row per state, open schemes only, as read on the government sites on 27 October 2026. The STC column is the federal discount on a 6.6 kW system in the capital at $39 per certificate; it applies everywhere and is already off the installer prices on this site. The panel column is the only place a state adds to it: Victoria for owner-occupiers and renters, Queensland for landlords. Loans are not rebates, but they are the open state money in New South Wales, Western Australia and the ACT.
| State | STC zone (capital) | STC on 6.6 kW | Panel rebate | Battery scheme | Loan | Open |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New South Wales | 3 (Sydney) | $1,755 (45 STCs) | None | virtual power plant (VPP) connection incentive (BESS2) (owner-occupiers, renters, businesses) | up to $15,000 (owner-occupiers, landlords) | 2 |
| Victoria | 4 (Melbourne) | $1,521 (39 STCs) | up to $1,400 (owner-occupiers, homes under construction); up to $140,000 (owner-occupiers, renters, owners corporations) | None | up to $1,400 (owner-occupiers, homes under construction, landlords) | 6 |
| Queensland | 3 (Brisbane) | $1,755 (45 STCs) | up to $3,500 (landlords) | None | None | 1 |
| South Australia | 3 (Adelaide) | $1,755 (45 STCs) | None | None | None | 0 |
| Western Australia | 3 (Perth) | $1,755 (45 STCs) | None | up to $3,800 (owner-occupiers) | up to $10,000 (owner-occupiers) | 2 |
| Tasmania | 4 (Hobart) | $1,521 (39 STCs) | None | None | None | 0 |
| ACT | 3 (Canberra) | $1,755 (45 STCs) | None | None | up to $20,000 (owner-occupiers) | 1 |
| Northern Territory | 2 (Darwin) | $1,950 (50 STCs) | None | None | None | 0 |
12 state or territory schemes are open in all. The state pages linked in the first column list every scheme with its test, status and the quotes read on the government page.
Every scheme, open, closed and waitlisted
23 schemes are on file across the eight states and territories, including the closed ones that still rank for searches. Amount and income test are the first clause of what the government page said; a scheme with no amount is a certificate or VPP incentive whose value is set by the provider.
| State | Scheme | Type | Status | Amount | Who | Income test |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New South Wales | Peak Demand Reduction Scheme residential battery installation incentive (BESS1) | incentive | closed | none stated | owner-occupiers, renters, businesses | none stated |
| New South Wales | Peak Demand Reduction Scheme virtual power plant (VPP) connection incentive (BESS2) | incentive | open | none stated | owner-occupiers, renters, businesses | none stated |
| New South Wales | Home Energy Saver zero-interest loan | loan | open | Zero-interest loan of at least $2,000 and up to $15,000 per property, repayable over up to 10 years, for rooftop solar, batteries, insulation, heating and cooling and other eligible upgrades | owner-occupiers, landlords | Combined taxable household income of up to $210,000 a year |
| New South Wales | Home Energy Saver discount | rebate | waitlist | Up to $4,000 off the cost of eligible energy saving upgrades | owner-occupiers, renters | Combined gross household income of up to $80,000 a year, or an eligible concession card |
| New South Wales | Energy Savings Scheme hot water upgrade incentive | incentive | not stated | none stated | owner-occupiers, renters, businesses | none stated |
| Victoria | Solar Homes Program solar panel (PV) rebate | rebate | open | Up to $1,400 (up to 50 per cent of the purchase cost, calculated after STCs and other discounts) | owner-occupiers, homes under construction | Combined household taxable income of all owners less than $150,000 per year (reduced from $210,000 on 1 July 2026) |
| Victoria | Solar Homes Program solar panel (PV) interest-free loan | loan | open | Up to $1,400 interest-free, matching the rebate | owner-occupiers, homes under construction, landlords | As for PV rebate: combined household taxable income less than $150,000 |
| Victoria | Solar Homes Program solar rebates for rental properties | rebate | open | Up to $1,400 per property plus optional interest-free loan to match (repaid over 4 years, $29.17 per month if the renter contributes nothing) | renters | Renters' combined household taxable income less than $150,000 per year (no landlord income test stated) |
| Victoria | Solar Homes Program hot water rebate | rebate | open | Up to $1,000 for eligible heat pump and solar hot water products | owner-occupiers | Combined household taxable income of all owners less than $150,000 per year |
| Victoria | Solar Homes Program solar battery interest-free loan | loan | closed | Was an interest-free loan with repayments of up to $183.34 per month over 4 years | owner-occupiers | none stated |
| Victoria | Solar for Apartments Program | rebate | open | Up to $2,800 per household (up to $140,000 per property) | owner-occupiers, renters, owners corporations | none stated |
| Victoria | Commercial and industrial solar panel (PV) discount (delivered under Victorian Energy Upgrades) | incentive | open | none stated | businesses | none stated |
| Victoria | Victorian Energy Upgrades (VEU) household discounts (hot water heat pumps, heating and cooling and other products) | incentive | not stated | none stated | owner-occupiers, renters, businesses | none stated |
| Queensland | Battery Booster program | rebate | closed | Was $3,000 (combined taxable income $180,000 or less) or $4,000 (taxable income under $66,667) for a battery of 6 kWh or more with at least 5 kW of solar | owner-occupiers | Was means tested (see amount) |
| Queensland | Supercharged Solar for Renters | rebate | open | Up to $3,500 per rental property to install rooftop solar | landlords | none stated |
| South Australia | Home Battery Scheme | rebate | closed | none stated | owner-occupiers | none stated |
| South Australia | Retailer Energy Productivity Scheme (REPS) battery / VPP connection activity | incentive | not stated | none stated | owner-occupiers, renters | none stated |
| Western Australia | WA Residential Battery Scheme rebate | rebate | open | Up to $1,300 for Synergy customers | owner-occupiers | none stated |
| Western Australia | WA Residential Battery Scheme no-interest loan | loan | open | Up to $10,000, no interest, repayment periods up to 10 years | owner-occupiers | Combined annual household income of less than $210,000 |
| Tasmania | Energy Saver Loan Scheme | loan | closed | Was 0% loans of $500 to $10,000, fortnightly repayments over 1 to 3 years (Brighte) | owner-occupiers, landlords, businesses | none stated |
| ACT | Sustainable Household Scheme (SHS) loan | loan | open | Loan of $2,000 to $20,000 for new applicants from 1 July 2026 (households approved before 1 July 2026 keep a $15,000 lifetime cap) | owner-occupiers | none stated |
| ACT | Home Energy Support Program (HESP) rebates and zero-interest loan | rebate | not stated | Up to $5,000 in rebates: 50% of cost up to $2,500 for rooftop solar, plus 50% up to $2,500 for other products combined (heating and cooling, hot water heat pumps, evacuated tube solar hot water, electric cooktops and ovens, ceiling insulation) | owner-occupiers | Concession card based (Pensioner Concession Card, DVA Gold Card or Health Care Card) |
| Northern Territory | Home and Business Battery Scheme (HBBS) | rebate | closed | Was $400 per kWh of usable battery capacity up to a maximum grant of $12,000 | owner-occupiers, businesses | none stated |
The federal layer every state gets: STCs on panels and 6.8 certificates per kWh on batteries
$1,755 is the STC discount on 6.6 kW in Zone 3, which covers Sydney, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide; Melbourne, Hobart and Canberra sit in Zone 4 at $1,521 and Darwin in Zone 2 at $1,950. The count is kilowatts times the zone rating times the deeming period, 5 years for a 2026 install and 4 from 1 January 2027, rounded down; the installer takes the certificates and the discount comes off the quote. The battery discount works the same way at 6.8 certificates per usable kWh to 31 December 2026: 68 certificates and $2,652 on 10 kWh, $3,549 on 13.5 kWh, with no income test and no property value cap.
| Zone | Rating | Capitals | 2026 install (5 years) | 2027 install (4 years) | Cut on 1 Jan 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zone 1 | 1.622 | no capital | 53 STCs, $2,067 | 42 STCs, $1,638 | $429 |
| Zone 2 | 1.536 | Northern Territory | 50 STCs, $1,950 | 40 STCs, $1,560 | $390 |
| Zone 3 | 1.382 | New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Western Australia, ACT | 45 STCs, $1,755 | 36 STCs, $1,404 | $351 |
| Zone 4 | 1.185 | Victoria, Tasmania | 39 STCs, $1,521 | 31 STCs, $1,209 | $312 |
The full zone and deeming maths, and what the step does to each capital, is in the 1 January 2027 guide; the battery side is in the battery guide.
What closes, steps down or has already closed
- Victoria, 30 June 2027. The $1,400 Solar Homes panel rebate and its matching interest-free loan close in their current form and move into the Victorian Energy Upgrades program from 1 July 2027. Until then it is released in monthly allocations to owner-occupiers with household income under $150,000 and a property under $3 million, and to rental properties.
- Every state, 1 January 2027. Deeming drops from 5 to 4 years, so the STC discount on 6.6 kW falls by $351 in Zone 3 and $312 in Zone 4. The battery factor drops from 6.8 to 5.7 certificates per kWh, $429 less on 10 kWh.
- Western Australia. The $1,300 to $3,800 battery rebate runs until the planned 100,000 rebates are taken; the loan of up to $10,000 sits beside it.
- New South Wales. The Home Energy Saver discount of up to $4,000 is on a waitlist; the $2,000 to $15,000 zero-interest loan is open to households on up to $210,000.
- Closed and not reopened: New South Wales Peak Demand Reduction Scheme residential battery installation incentive (BESS1); Victoria Solar Homes Program solar battery interest-free loan; Queensland Battery Booster program; South Australia Home Battery Scheme; Tasmania Energy Saver Loan Scheme; Northern Territory Home and Business Battery Scheme (HBBS). Each closed scheme points households to the federal battery discount.
Rebate questions
Is there a solar panel rebate in NSW in 2026?
$1,755 is what a 6.6 kW system in Sydney gets in October 2026, all of it the federal STC discount: New South Wales has no state rebate on panels. The state money is the Home Energy Saver zero-interest loan of $2,000 to $15,000 for households on up to $210,000, and a discount of up to $4,000 for low-income households that is on a waitlist; the New South Wales eligibility guide has the tests.
Is there a solar panel rebate in WA in 2026?
$1,755 in federal STCs on 6.6 kW in Perth is the only discount on panels in Western Australia; the state scheme is the $1,300 to $3,800 battery rebate for Synergy and Horizon Power customers who put the battery in a virtual power plant, with a no-interest loan beside it.
Which state has the best solar rebate in 2026?
$1,400 in Victoria, for owner-occupiers under the $150,000 income cap and for renters, is the only state rebate on panels, with an interest-free loan of the same amount on top. Queensland pays landlords up to $3,500 per rental. Every other state offers loans, battery schemes or nothing, so outside those two the federal STC discount is the whole rebate.
How much is the solar rebate in 2026?
$1,521 to $1,950 on a 6.6 kW system across the capitals in October 2026, from Zone 4 (Melbourne, Hobart, Canberra) to Zone 2 (Darwin), at $39 per certificate; Zone 3 capitals get $1,755. Add $1,400 in Victoria. A 10 kWh battery earns $2,652 anywhere.
Is the Victorian solar rebate still open?
$1,400 is open on 27 October 2026, released in monthly allocations, to owner-occupiers with household income under $150,000 and a property under $3 million, homes under construction and rental properties; it closes in its current form on 30 June 2027 and moves into the Victorian Energy Upgrades program.
Can I get a state rebate and the federal STC discount together?
$1,400 in Victoria comes off after the STC line, because Solar Victoria caps the rebate at half the cost after STCs and other discounts, so a Melbourne 6.6 kW system at $6,218 after $1,521 in STCs drops to $4,818. The Queensland landlord rebate and the federal battery discount stack the same way; nothing on file forbids combining a state scheme with STCs.
